Monday, 5 December 2016

Books I Read In November//What I'm Reading In December

So, this month is the final push for me; the last chance to complete my 2016 reading challenge! I've been doing the GoodReads Reading Challenge since 2011, and I've only failed once. I really don't intend to make it twice! At the start of 2016, I challenged myself to read 60 books, but I had to amend my goal half-way through the year because it was pretty obvious I wasn't going to make it to 60. So my revised challenge? 50 books in a year. And I'm almost there. So far, I've read 44 out of 50 books. So this month, I need to get through six books. Sounds doable, right? I sure hope so! I've picked out some really great books to see me through December, but before I share my TBR's with you, here's a look at what I read in November! 


The Widow, by Fiona Barton, is one of those books I didn't want to love. A psychological thriller dealing with the extremely sensitive subject of child abduction, child pornography and murder; this book is anything but an easy read. I expected this to be graphic, and disturbing, but the delicate subject matter was dealt with incredibly tactfully. The story focused on the widow of Glen, a man accused of abducting and murdering a two year old girl, Bella, as she tells her story in the wake of his unexpected death. Told by the widow, a reporter and the detective on the case; this book takes you on an emotional roller coaster, from Bella's disappearance to Glen's death. It's deeply disturbing, that can't be denied, but also an incredibly riveting, unusual and unexpected read. This book ended up being nothing like I imagined it to be - and I love it for that!

Rating: ****


I'd heard so many great things about My Husband's Wife, by Jane Corry, that I honestly didn't expect it to live up the hype. But it did! A love story, which ends in murder, this is a pretty hefty book but worth the read. The story follows Lily and Ed, a newly married couple, who live in London and mix with all the right people. But Lily has a secret, something from her past that is soon to be her future. And she's sure her husband is hiding something, too. Til' death us do part...their vows are about to be tested. A gripping read, full of so many twists and turns, and told from the point of view of Lily and Carla, the 9-year old daughter of Lily and Ed's next door neighbour. This is anything but a perfect love story! A fantastic read for fans of Paula Hawkins, "The Girl On The Train." 

Rating: *****


Foxlowe, by Eleanor Wasserberg, is a novel I picked up after seeing it mentioned on one of my favourite book blogger's blog. In a similar vein to The Girls, by Emma Cline, Foxlowe is a chilling, compulsive debut novel about group mentality, superstition, and betrayal - the story of a utopian community, the Family, who find a home in Foxlowe. I didn't really enjoy The Girls, so I was a little worried I wouldn't enjoy Foxlowe, either. But I needn't have worried. This book had me so gripped, from start to finish, that I read the book in just two days. I could not put it down! The story flowed effortlessly, and Green was the perfect narrator; so innocent in her story telling, whilst at the same time highlighting everything that was wrong with the Family. Such a dark read, but one I thoroughly recommend!

Rating: *****


And now, a quick look at what I'm planning on reading in December...

Bridget Jones Mad About The Boy by Helen Fielding
Bridget Jones's Baby by Helen Fielding
Beautiful Broken Things by  Sara Barnard
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
Inferno by Dan Brown
Ayden's Choice by Sam Felix 

I had my initial six books picked out to read in December and, hopefully, complete my 2016 reading challenge. Then Ayden's Choice arrived on my doorstep, and I just had to add it to the pile. So I'm shooting for seven books read this month, but I'll be more than happy with six. And now, I must go and stick my nose back in a book; because if I don't get a wiggle on I don't stand a chance of completing my reading challenge. Wish me luck!

Keep up with my latest posts by following me and subscribing to my newsletter!

Get all the latest with my newsletter

* indicates required



December Advertisers

SHARE:

6 comments

  1. Foxlowe sounds amazing. I love books like that with a dark undertone.

    Corinne x
    www.skinnedcartree.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really was so good, I'd highly recommend it! x

      Delete
  2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is one of my all time favourite books. I hope you enjoy reading it!

    www.eleaanormay.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I'm so excited to read it - I've not read anything by Rainbow Rowell before, apart from a short book she put out for World Book Day - but I've heard such good things about her! x

      Delete
  3. I loved The Girls by Emma Cline so Foxlowe looks really interesting! Will definitely be checking it out.

    Emma | EMMAMATTHEWS.CO.UK

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh, well, if you loved The Girls I'd definitely recommend Foxlowe! x

      Delete

© Aimee Raindrop Writes. All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Made By pipdig